YOU CHOOSE by Nick Sharratt and Pippa Goodhart

youchoose

Hello everyone! I’ve had a lot of messages asking what happened to the blog. I left off letting you guys know things were hectic and to make things even crazier I’ve been back and forth between the doctor for my son and myself since August. I think things are finally starting to settle so I am going to try and catch up. Please bare with me if I’ve promised a review as I am REALLY behind with school, the doctors and my sons extra curricular activities. I will try to get all the way caught up as soon as possible. Prayers for stability in my life is greatly appreciated. 🙂

Sharratt, Nick. You Choose. Illustrated by Pippa Goodhart. Tulsa: Kane Miller, c2012.

This book mainly done in illustrations. The story is as the title indicates, about choosing. The story goes through several scenarios from being hungry and choosing the food you want to choosing what to wear. The level of this picture book looks like it could easily be read by an early reader, not necessarily an emergent reader. Lots of common sight words that are soundable are used, but there are also words used such as “wear” that children may need help with. This is also suitable as a read aloud book. The sentences are in big, bold, black letters at the top.

The illustrations take on practically the whole page. At first, the illustrations seem extremely busy, but as you go on you realize that its not as busy as originally thought. The illustrations are aligned with the text in that when they ask you to choose shoes, they have 50 different pairs of shoes to choose from. Some of the characters that are in the illustrations have idea bubbles with comments, but these characters aren’t shown through out the book.

I think this is an adorable book and would recommend it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

