Alice in Wonderland adapted by Deborah Hautzig and Illustrated by Kathryn Rathke

alice

Hautzig, Deborah. Alice in Wonderland. Illustrated by Kathryn Rathke. New York: Penguin Young Readers, c2010.

 

I know many of you are going to think I’m crazy for what I’m about to admit, but I have never read the books or seen the movies dealing with Alice in Wonderland. It was just never my cup of tea so to speak. I got this book because I thought my son would love it. This book is similar to an I can Read Book in that it is based on a level system and this book is a level 4. The instructions say if a child reads well and fast then they are ready for level 4 books.

 

Since I’ve never read the books or seen the movies I can’t compare the original story to this adopted one. The story was pretty much what I imagined it would be. Queen of hearts, the rabbit, and Alice in the story with doors and such. The paragraphs seemed a bit hard for readers that are just getting comfortable with reading. As an adult I read it just fine, but I know my son, who is level 2, wouldn’t be able to read it without assistance.

 

The illustrations are unique. They remind me of older illustrated where outlining with thick black lines were frequent. The colors range between pastel and bright colors. The book is definitely more cartoonish than any books I’ve read recently. The illustrations add nothing extra besides a few minor details that aren’t central to the plot.

 

If interested, this book is also available for Prime members at no charge on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Lewis-Carrolls-Wonderland-Penguin-Readers/dp/0448452693/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376972868&sr=8-1&keywords=deborah+hautzig

 

xoxo, Jade

Leave a Reply

