Arabelle the Frightened Spider by Jill Van Der Voort

arabelle

I got this in e-book form off of Amazon because my son loves creepy crawlers! The story is about a spider who is afraid of many things including a little boy that often plays near her web. The author notes at the ending that spiders are nothing to be frightened of, but I also felt the message applied to all things; concurring fears another words. It is told in rhyme, which I love because it has a steady beat. The words are extremely easy to understand.

The illustrations depict what we are told in the story. The lines are very clean and straight when they need to be and curvy when it is. I personally like illustrations that are a bit messy because I think it gives character and I like that.

I do like the fact that their is a whimsical feel to the illustrations. With Halloween right around the corner, it could be a great book that isn’t scary for young readers. I’m not sure if this is the case, but the illustrations look like they were done on the computer. That’s great, but with something naturesque I would prefer to see something more unperfect to go with the text.  

Leave a Reply

