I Miss You, Stinky Face by Lisa McCourt and Illustrated by Cyd Moore

dragon

Good morning readers! I wanted to apologize for not posting in the last 4 days. I have had my nieces and trying to keep 2 pre teenagers and my 6 year old son equally entertained all at the same time has been a challenge. Please bare with me as I post the reviews throughout the day for the last 4 days as well as today.

 

McCourt, Lisa. I Miss You, Stinky Face. Illustrated by Cyd Moore. New York: Scholastic Inc., c1999.

A mother is talking to her son assuring him her speedy return on an airplane. The boy goes through several scenarios about what she could do to get home incase something happens to the airplane. When I first grabbed this book, I grabbed it because of the dragon on the cover. As I read the story I was a bit disappointed that the book only had the dragon in it in the back, but then I looked at the cover again and see the tiger and things mentioned in the book. I then wasn’t as disappointed, and read it again. With realizing what the story entails, reading it the second time I found it a cute little story.

I really like the illustrations because they look like they were pulled from a dream and they matched the text rather perfectly. The illustrations take up the whole page with blank space for the text.

One thing I didn’t care for was the change in text throughout the book. The “fancy” font was a bit distracting and took away from the story for me. I really liked the detail that was added to each illustration. The illustrator really took their time to make sure that everything was as close to perfect as possible.

I would recommend this book. I would like to suggest to the illustrator to try to change the cover because it is misleading to children and adults alike.

xoxo,

Jade

Leave a Reply

