The Big Hallloween Scare Level two ready to read (informal review)

thCA7KIZGB

Banks, Steven. The Big Halloween Scare. Illustrated by Heather Martinez. New York, Simon Spotlight/Nickelodeon, c2003.

I wanted to do an informal review for this one just because it is a ready to read book and there is a Halloween episode of SpongeBob that it matches. I told my son to pick a book off his shelf, and he chose this one (Guess he is ready for Halloween, LoL). Anyway, describing the text and illustrations with this one would make a formal review really, really short because it matches the episode almost exactly and my brain got a little dizzy trying to sort out the show from this book; if that makes any sense at all. This is a stage 2 reader for young readers. Although my son is not on this reading level, his listening and understanding of it is still possible. He found this read to be hilarious, mostly due to my awful voice overs of the different characters from the show. When he is able to read this one by himself, I really like the way it is set up. The text is placed at the top of the page and so when you turn the page you know it’s there. If you’ve ever seen an episode of Spongebob, then you get a pretty good idea of what the illustrations look like. To be honest, I’m not sure if the illustrator has any involvement with the illustrations for the show, but you can not tell. I probably won’t do a formal review of a book today because I am mentally and physically drained from todays midterms. So I do hope you all enjoyed the review and will enjoy the rest of your Tuesday!

xoxo Jade

4 thoughts on “The Big Hallloween Scare Level two ready to read (informal review)

  1. Hope your exams went well. Spongebob is the Pee Wee Herman of the twenty-first century. Weird but loved – I hope Spongebob keeps his life together and his hands in his pockets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

